Help with color

One of our neighbors has a flock of chickens that includes a rooster. I’m not sure which neighbor it is because we are separated by at least 15 acres, but we can clearly hear him crowing every morning. (This would be why roosters aren’t permitted in urban areas.)

He’s normally a polite, mannerly gentleman. Not this morning. When I first took the dogs out at about 6:30 it sounded like he was shouting “I kill you!” “I kill you!” over and over again in chicken. My guess is a predator tried to get to his hens and he ran it off.  Our dog Floyd isn’t exactly the bravest dog that ever lived and this distant cacophony reduced him to hiding behind my legs.

I’m writing this morning because I would like your help with picking colors for the exterior of the house. I need to start the foundation beds soon so I can get all my pass along plants and transplants in the ground and it will be much easier to paint the foundation before I do so, so we need to pick all of the colors now. Here’s a picture of the current exterior:

House

The white vinyl siding is staying for now. The holly tree is going away. The current contenders for the door color are: red, orange, yellow, and green. The shade will be very bright regardless. I would like a deep blue for the porch. That leaves the foundation. Kelly refuses to let me just paint it white. I’m flummoxed.

What do you think?

(Disclaimer: I have NO color or fashion sense. I have been known to wear stripes and plaid together, and I can’t count the number of times Kelly has stopped me on my way out the door in the morning and gently suggested I change clothes.)

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Help with color”

  1. foxtaylor says :

    I just painted the exterior of my new house black… but that may not be for everyone hahaha. I’ve only been following your blog for a short while, but I like it a lot and I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! Check out the link below to read more about it, and thanks for your great posts!
    Fox
    http://foxonanisland.com/2014/03/31/liebster-award-sharing-new-blogs/

    • laughingbirdfarm says :

      Thanks! I appreciate it, and will get the questions answered.
      I do like black on a house actually, but it’s unfortunately not a good idea in a climate where the summer temps regularly get over a 100 degrees F. 😉

  2. Nat Cowdell says :

    Grey would be my pick- a light shade I perhaps?

  3. LuckyRobin says :

    Yellow is opposite blue on the color wheel, so those two colors are very complimentary. A yellow door should look good with a deep blue porch. You’d need a similar deep or bright tone to go with your porch. Pastel yellow would not go well.

Leave a Reply

